alnus incana ~ July

the grey alder is filling out with more foliage and has an open multi trunk (trunks), the whole tree as best I can, there are a couple of dead leaders, probably from winter storms,
francescaple.greyalder15
the top line showing the grey alder between 2 New Zealand broadleafs which I think are a form of shrubby poplars,
francescaple.greyalder16
I’ve become interested in the bark, it has these light coloured marks and some larger cream patches, I’ve noticed the Ash trees are the similar,
francescaple.greyalder17francescaple.greyalder18
the larger mature leaf, some keep the reddish brown until nearly full grown,
francescaple.greyalder19
I actually saw a bug and got a photo, not sure what it is,
francescaple.greyalder20
underneath it needs weeding, I have no excuse for not having weeded, instead I have a very good reason, rain, it hasn’t stopped much, no dry spell this year, last week I had just 1 day when I could go/work in the garden, I don’t think it is just up here I think other parts of the UK are the same, thistle, grass and horsetails, and an unknown weed that seeds it’s self around,
francescaple.greyalder21
looking up through the leaves,
francescaple.greyalder22
the hornbeam, I was a bit late taking photos so the sun was behind it, must take the photo in the morning next month,
francescaple.hornbeam3
I noticed the leaves start off quite pointed then round more, they too are reddish when they first emerge,
francescaple.hornbeam4
from the other (sunny) side, lots of weeding to be done here too, mostly hawkweed,
francescaple.hornbeam5
and the teeny, tiny lodge pole pine, not much change,
francescaple.lodgepole2francescaple.lodgepole3
I’m still very much enjoying this meme and seeing a lot more in all my trees, thanks to Lucy for hosting this meme, if you would like to see and follow more trees then click through to Lucy’s blog,

.
©Copyright 2014 Frances Caple. All rights reserved. Content created by Frances Caple for Island Threads.

25 responses to “alnus incana ~ July

  1. Looks like you are getting the rain we aren’t. My flower beds are like concrete.

    Like

    • Deb I wish we weren’t! I long for drought! 2 years ago after nearly 9 months of rain we had 3 months of dry, I so wish we had that dry again, the weeds and grass barely grew and I could chose where to put the water, bliss, pure bliss, Frances

      Like

      • No gardener ever gets perfect I guess. Out in Pender none of my vegetables have grown properly this year, last year I had tons. So sad.

        Like

        • I think it’s a much bigger problem gardening when you are away a lot, if you were there you could water them, it was my being away visiting family last year that started the big problem I now have with weeds in the damp meadow and tweenie, it was wet and they grew rapidly, Frances

          Like

  2. The sky is more blue than mine in that image looking up through the leaves! New growth on so many plants has really beautiful colours, something I think we all forget, I certainly do.

    Like

    • well that makes a change it’s time we had a bit of blue sky further north, Christina you have so much growing beautifully in your garden if you spent 24/7 in it you wouldn’t be able to see it all, Frances

      Like

  3. I love Alder trees, they are lovely all year round.
    Not much rain here in Suffolk. It all seems to peter out before it gets here. Would it annoy you very much if I said I wish we could get some lovely rain?

    Like

    • yeah, somebody has noticed the tree, thanks Chloris, no it would not annoy me, years ago when I lived in Surrey I met a Scot who said he thought the UK should be on a pivot so it could be turned around and we get equal shares of the weather ;o) Frances
      ps East Anglia is said to be the driest part of the UK I have been thinking about it if there is a yes vote and I move,

      Like

  4. The hawkweed draws me flocks of Cape canaries for the seeds – so it’s a keeper in my garden. We’ve has 2 days of frost, breaking our lowest temperature record – and today I share your deep blue sky!

    Like

    • how nice Diana, the birds show no interest in my hawkweed, there is a lot of it though, I leave it on the wildflower slope and in wild parts of the garden, I would just like this area to be a little less weed infested so I can finish planting a windbreak, Frances

      Like

  5. Hi Frances, I love the pivot idea … and your alder, and your fresh leaves. I’m not sure I want your rain, though, but I wouldn’t mind your hornbeam!

    Like

  6. “orange lenticels, covered in grey, short, pubescence; pale shiny grey when older” – as with your grey alder, makes a tree seem much more alive when the pores are so evident. Almost can see it breathing
    p.s never seen red on hornbeam bushes but might have the answer to why there are no catkins
    pps been quite dry here Frances!

    Like

  7. thank you Laura, I never thought about plants having pores on their skin, from what I’ve heard it’s been very hot down there in the south east, Frances

    Like

  8. I like your bonsai-like lodgepole. They’re common here in Wyoming — good to have but none have as much character as yours!

    Like

    • hello Hollis, I have just found your comment in my spam folder, rescued, thank you, the June tree following post explains about the lodge pole, it was neglected and hadn’t grown in the pot I’d put the seedling in so I’m trying it like this, they are used here as they cope with the gales and peaty soil, the smell from them reminds me of camping in the US and Canada, happy memories, Frances

      Like

  9. Oh I do sympathise … we have friends in Glasgow on the weather forecast it ALWAYS looks like it’s raining .. or has been … or is imminent :-(
    Plenty of weeds in my garden I have to admit .. no idea why :-D
    Wishing you a break in the clouds then Frances .

    Like

    • thanks Poppy, it never used to be like this, if it had I would not have stayed here, it’s the last few years, we had a 3 day break last week which was pure heaven, Frances

      Like

  10. both the hornbeam and alder have interesting leaves and I love the alder bark…luckily we have had some sun between the rain but still no real weeding except in the veg garden.

    Like

    • Donna, did you read Laura’s comment about the bark, very interesting, imo, we had a 3 day break in the weather last week and I finally got the courgettes out of pots and into the ground, a bit late I know, Frances

      Like

  11. Fascinating markings on the bark there Frances, and how strange that the leaves start out so pointed.

    Like

    • hello Janet, nice to see you getting about a bit, what’s more if it wasn’t for this meme I still wouldn’t have noticed these things, we see but rarely seem to look, Frances

      Like

  12. Isn’t it proving fascinating watching your tree in such detail month by month? I am wondering whether to ‘watch’ one of new witch hazels for this meme..

    Like

    • oh do Cathy, I am finding it very interesting, it has also made me stop and look, as I go around the garden I thought I saw things but now realise I have been missing a lot, Frances

      Like

  13. Lucy Corrander

    I too enjoy seeing leaves when they are red and young . . . and leaves against a blue sky too.

    Like