seeds and veggies

wee eggs of the cabbage white butterfly, I enjoy seeing them dancing above the flowers and sipping nectar but I don’t want to share my greens with their off spring, I don’t know what wild plants the caterpillars feed on but whatever they are there must be plenty around here as there is never any shortage of white butterflies, so I decided I must cover my greens,
francescaple.seeds29
first to pick what was ready, my first crop of radish, I didn’t get any to enjoy last year they either didn’t grow or were tough, these were delicious,
francescaple.seeds30
first lettuce sown outside is through, I’m still cropping some from the windowsill inside,
francescaple.seeds31
cut all the outer leaves from the winter cabbage (yes it was supposed to grow through winter) after covering I have left them to heart up and will pull a whole one when needed, I have a surfeit of greens as these should have grown in winter, I still have some over wintered broccoli producing leaves and the kale and spinach I sowed for young leaves are producing, luckily they all have individual flavours,
francescaple.seeds32
the kale and spinach with a few other things, I have some wire frames from poly closhes so used them for support,
francescaple.seeds33
all covered,
francescaple.seeds34
the courgettes and squashes are outside now, though the courgettes are in big pots as I still have not got the new raised bed made in the new alder veg garden, a priority for next week me thinks,

inside I was soooo excited to see the first bud on one of the pepper plants mid month,
francescaple.seeds35
and the cucumbers I’ve discovered climb so supports need to be found,
francescaple.seeds36
the pepper flower opened Saturday,
francescaple.seeds37
now as it is inside do I need to pollinate? I’ve been searching for info and found none, the seed packet doesn’t say, tomatoes I’ve grown inside I’ve never needed to pollinate and I read not to let cucumbers grown inside pollinate as it makes for bitter fruit, thank you in advance for any help,

on the flower front, I’d planted out some of them as plug plants thinking that would be alright, the brachycome in the centre front garden and found most have disappeared, I saw 2 starlings waddling around and from the remaining evidence they have pecked them to pieces, in the long flower border in the alder veg garden as the oxeye daisies are young plants I planted the rudbeckias between them, thinking that as they are annuals they will be gone when the oxeye daisies fill out next year, the next morning most were gone! just gone! it is very irritating, but lesson learned no more planting out of plug sized plants, so I have just potted on the sunflowers, cornflowers and cosmos, I’ll plant them out when larger, like the echinacea, which I’ve planted at the top of the slope in the birch garden,
francescaple.seeds38
the mulch around them was made/laid when I couldn’t do much gardening earlier in the year due to rain and so did my pruning between the showers and shredded in the side porch, I laid the shredding here on newspaper and the grass which was sparse due to heavy cropping in previous years has now become a loam, it was nice to be able to plant into it, gave a sense that all the time in the wet months wasn’t completely wasted,

end of June, the nights start drawing in, time rushes by …….

.
┬ęCopyright 2014 Frances Caple. All rights reserved. Content created by Frances Caple for Island Threads.

6 responses to “seeds and veggies

  1. Frances peppers pollinate usually by wind so indoors you do need to pollinate them. Here is a link to tell you how. Good luck. Everything is growing wonderfully in your veg garden!!

    http://homeguides.sfgate.com/pollinate-bell-pepper-38916.html

  2. Lucy Corrander

    I once left eggs on a young cabbage plant to see what would happen. So many caterpillars hatched I found myself repelled instead of entranced. The plant itself was munched away pretty quickly.

    • I am not surprised Lucy that there were a lot as there are a lot! of eggs, some were much larger patches than the one I photographed, of course if I was lucky they could end up being food for the birds, not prepared to take that chance and prefer the birds to eat the slugs, Frances

  3. I have planted out my Brussels sprouts and already I found some eggs, which I remove. Young plants will be completely destroyed by the the caterpillars. As Donna above says you do need to pollinate, in the greenhouse (inside). Tomatoes do need pollinating too, but just tapping their canes often works.

    • thanks Christina, mine are really inside, as they are on windowsills in my house, interesting what you say about the tomatoes as the ones I grew first year said on the packet self fertilizing, but last years didn’t say, anyway some flowers turned to tomatoes so I thought they must be SF but now think maybe my moving around them with other plants on the windowsill inadvertently pollinated them, Frances

thank you for reading my threads

