a little of the foliage in my garden

I am joining in Christina’s foliage meme this month as there is some foliage that is giving me a great deal of pleasure,

in the middle bed front garden the artemisia I finally bought earlier this year is growing very well, I say finally as I ordered it a couple of years ago and the nursery had sold out and sent one of my substitute choices instead, the juniper always gives me pleasure to see and now it is in it’s spring/summer colours as new growth is a creamy yellow, it will eventually turn blue as it matures,
francescaple.foliage1
near by this combination is starting to look nearer to how I visulised it as the plants start to fill out a bit,
francescaple.foliage2
in the species rose border the rubrifolia rose and origanum vulgare aureum (golden marjoram) are contrasting beautifully (well imo),
francescaple.foliage3francescaple.foliage4

as this is a foliage post I was determined to get a better photo of the amelanchier foliage, it has this wonderful warm rusts and reds before turning spring green,
francescaple.foliage5
hosta carnival in the jungle front garden has grown quite a lot this year and I just love seeing it every time I walk by, I have resisted buying hostas as everyone says they are a slug magnet, but I tried one at the tree edge 2 years ago and last year bought this for the area by the house which I have had problems getting anything much growing in, if the hosta continues to thrive them maybe that will be the way to go here,
francescaple.foliage6
a little further along and the black peppermint is doing what mints have a reputation for doing ….. spreading, in this case so far nicely, I like the way it is coming up between other plants, the leaves are purple underneath and bonus it’s an edible mint,
francescaple.foliage7
this view is showing part of why I call this bed the jungle, hemerocallis, pontentillia and crocosmia, the pontentilla could do with a bit more room and the crocosmia definitely needs dividing, the hemerocallis could also be moved/divided, the contrasting foliage looks fine with or without the flowers which will come later,
francescaple.foliage8
and last but far from least, olearia virgata, Christina mentioned that sometimes we buy a plant just for the foliage, well this is just such a plant, I love the soft needle like leaves the way the new branches move with the breeze and yet stand up to the gales, lots of people think when they see it that it’s rosemary, it is only like rosemary in the leaf shape, rosemary has stiff leaves these are soft, it is also much more grey than rosemary, the one in this photo is an off spring of the original plant in the middle front bed that I cut early this year, this one is with others as part of an internal hedge which I run the trimmer over towards the end of summer just to keep the sides in check, olearia virgata is evergreen, though in my garden it does loose some leaves during the winter gales,
francescaple.foliage9
there is a lot of foliage in the tweenie garden but it is just too wet and I didn’t feel like getting my feet and legs soaked,
thanks to Christina for hosting this meme and please follow the link to Christina’s blog to see more foliage posts,

.
©Copyright 2014 Frances Caple. All rights reserved. Content created by Frances Caple for Island Threads.

8 responses to “a little of the foliage in my garden

  1. Everything is growing and filling in beautifully. It is looking very nice.

  2. Amelanchier is such a lovely tree and it must be quite tough to survive well with you. I would like to grow one here, I’m thinking of replacing a plum that is old and doesn’t produce very well. thanks for joining in GBFD this month Frances, you have shown us some interesting plants.

    • thanks Christina, I bought 10 amelanchiers that were sold as small bare root plants, I was/am a bit concerned about the effect the gales can have on them, they are planted as an inner hedge along the path from house to shed, I tried them because they have been described as giving a good show from spring to autumn and they like a damp acid soil, or at least that’s what I’ve read, 2 are doing very well the other 8 are smaller but at least they are all still alive after 2 winters, I have hope, Frances

  3. It’s lovely seeing those plants clumping up so beautifully – you must be well chuffed. Strangely, my amelanchier is in soil that is neither damp nor acid and it is doing fine! :)

    • thanks Cathy I am pleased, and thank you for the info re your amelanchier which further proves my point I’ve so frequently made that the ‘experts and professionals’ are what my Dad would call “talking out the back of their hat!” Frances

  4. Frances I love the variety of texture and color of your foliage…absolutely lovely!