foliage and last Greece post

the last day of my Greek holiday there was nothing planned so a free day, don’t miss understand every day could have been a free day I just chose to go on the various trips to see as much as possible, we were in Kamari on Santorini island, there are hills separating Kamari from Perissa, on top of one hill is the ancient city of Thera, once the capital of the island before the island was called Santorini, I had visited this site early in the holiday, I do like walking and had not done much so I decided to walk up the pass between the hills and visit Perissa for the day, on the Kamari side there is a zigzag road which is easy to walk, on the Perissa side there is a narrow path with lots of loose small pieces of rock making for slightly unstable footing, another member of the group had walked this path so I asked how hard was it because I was a bit worried I’d get down but have trouble getting back up, they assured me getting back up was easier than going down, now I’ve done it I agree, I could hardly believe how quick I got back up the path, this is the path from Perissa,
francescaple.perissa1
while walking the path I can across some details about it,
francescaple.perissa2
as the Cyclades had not had rain for about 8 months I was intrigued and curious about the amount of vegetation in wild areas, I didn’t take many photos, there was an erica in flower in many places, sweet little mauve flowers, there were plants with needle like leaves, fleshy leaves and succulents everywhere, the soil is volcanic so probably full of plant food and very free draining, in summer temps can be very hot and there are strong winds that come down from the Steppes, the wind was very evident, not only did we experience it but many plants had grown in one direction, from my first photo the slope looks bare, it wasn’t and here are 2 photos taken on the slope, I liked the way nature had created this little group and like the contrast of green, grey and gold, looking at nature is a good design tip,
francescaple.perissa3
there were lots and lots of dried grasses in shades of gold and bronze, I’ve no idea what these grasses are but they were every where on the islands and I find them beautiful, especially with the sun on them,
francescaple.perissa4
now to some foliage in my garden, I took the photos on Wednesday and they are all in my little front garden,  except for the large dark erica I planted this group last winter, the conifer and light green erica were moved from their waiting place, I love the light green erica (I’m being lazy and not looking up the names) in it’s waiting place I planted it deep in the hope stems would root and so give me more, they did, I planted 3 here, I like the contrast of colour, the light green erica does not grow very tall so I’d be happy if it carpeted under the large woody dark green one,
francescaple.mygarden1
this saxifrage is next to them and I was amazed to see this growth, I moved it when I made this border last winter and feel it proves my theory that plants don’t do well due to food deficient soil as now it has been planted in better soil it is growing the best it ever has,

francescaple.mygarden2low growing conifers with blue grass and dianthus,
francescaple.mygarden3francescaple.mygarden4
I only planted this about this time last year and it’s grown well can’t wait to divide and create more,
francescaple.mygarden5
I bought this little succulent because it was a beautiful grey/blue with a touch of plum, I’ve noticed it changes according to temps and now it’s winter it’s got red tints too, beautiful, I’d like to propagate it and have lots more, a small carpert of them would be wonderful,
francescaple.mygarden6
thanks to Christina for hosting the foliage meme and if you would like to see more foliage posts please follow this link to Christina’s blog,

©Copyright 2013 Frances Caple. All rights reserved. Content created by Frances Caple for Island Threads.

10 responses to “foliage and last Greece post

  1. Thank you for joining the Foliage meme this month. I like the succulent very much, and it looks as if it will be easy to propagate. You’re so right that plants really respond to where they are planted, microclimates and pockets of different soil can make so much difference.

    • thanks Christina, you commented on the sedum (Jessica’s right I should have looked it up) when I first planted it in the summer, I think it would be good in your garden, Frances

  2. I liked the juxtapositioning of your garden with Greece (wherever we are, we gardeners are always looking for inspiration!) especially love your spiky grasses with the low growing conifers whilst the saxifrages have that inviting touchy-feely look

    • thanks Laura, I thought it would make an interesting contrast, they are so different one dry and hot with a fertile soil, the other wet and mild with a deficient soil, but both having strong salty winds in common, I didn’t initially like ericas and conifers but I’m trying to use plants that will grow in these conditions and have been surprised by the variety in these plants, Frances

  3. Nature does have a knack of creating beautiful contrasts, but you are not doing so bad yourself Frances, you have a lovely group of plants there. I love blue grasses, but the succulent (sedum?) is nice too with its red tints.

    • thanks Jessica, you are right it’s a sedum, that word just didn’t come to me last night as I wrote, it’s been a long slow learning curve, I’m finally starting to discover what will survive here but the biggest discovery is the realising how deficient the soil is and feeding plants, finding out what they like and need,
      according to the weather forecast you have the first of the next gale later today which is said to reach us tonight, take care, Frances

  4. Frances I love your Greece vacation shots and these of wild areas are very interesting especially how they were growing from wind….your foliage is lush and green. I like how the last one changes color.

    • thanks Donna, I’m glad you have enjoyed the photos, I’ve enjoyed writing the posts as it takes me back and is nice when there is wind and rain outside, I was very interested in how much was growing despite the lack of water and salty winds, nature is amazing, Frances

  5. As Laura said the juxtaposition of plants and places was an intriguing contrast, Frances. I am pleased to see your little additions are doing well now they have found a better spot. Hope you are not blown about too much in the next day or two, and have a quiet and pleasant Christmas – will you be sharing it with anybody?