sarpo mira

I had delayed writing a post because I wanted to do a garden post and I need some spuds! but the continuing wet and windy weather had other ideas, so last night I did a quick wordless Wednesday as it was nearly a week since my last post, so today the wind and rain abated for a couple of hours and gave me time to finally gather my veggies, as I don’t know when the weather will let me in the garden again I decided to take all the potatoes I find from the Sarpo Mira crop, I didn’t take the garden fork with me and dig down so there maybe a few more still, I just used the scrapy thing you can see on top of them,

francescaple.sarpomira1

these were the last to be planted in a slightly make shift bed as I had used up all of the designated potato area, there were only 8 seed potatoes in the pack, I have never weighed any fruit or veg from the garden before but as I had taken all I could find of these I thought I’d weigh them out of curiosity, 8lb. I’m thrilled, that averages at a pound per seed potato! I have no idea if this is good, fair or poor,

francescaple.sarpomira2

the other veg I wanted to get were the carrots and beetroots, the beetroots were just leaf, they just haven’t grown, the carrots were a bit better but only a bit, most were no fatter than the ‘thins’, these were another free variety, I think the best were the first which were seeds I bought from (I think) the victorian nursery, while I was out I decided to pull the 6 leeks, the only leeks, they are baby leeks and they were supposed to be ready in 6-8 weeks, I had sown them in June, at least they eventually started to grow in the autumn so I will grow leeks again, use more seed and be prepared that they will take a while to grow,

francescaple.carrotsleeks1francescaple.carrotsleeks2

I took a look at the sprouting brocalli to see if it was still growing, it is but no flowers, I imagine it will be spring before it flowers now, I will continue with the veg next year as it is still the only real pleasure from the garden, I’ve still got over half a row of Pink Fir Apple potatoes some very small parsnips which were planted very late and a cauliflower that had not grown with the rest in the summer has started to grow so I don’t know if it will become edible (for me) veg,

©Copyright 2013 Frances Caple. All rights reserved. Content created by Frances Caple for Island Threads.

21 responses to “sarpo mira

  1. I grew Sarpo Axona as a maincrop and probably got about the same yield, although half of them I threw away because they’d been nibbled by mice. Yours look much healthier than mine too.
    I found Pink Fir Apple much better for taste though and will go back to these next year. I want to try growing them in containers. Hopefully then I can find a place that is sheltered from the worst of the wet and better protect them from the mice.

    • thanks Jessica, there is some scab on these and the pink fir but not as bad as I’ve had on some other varieties, the taste is different from pink fir and charlotte (a fav of mine), I’ve only had one meal with them yesterday and they were fine by me, one of the things I am loving about growing tatties is that I can have more variety, the other is not having to carry them home, according to the notes that came with the tatties, pink fir are good for salad/boil/roast and sarpo mira bake/roast/chip, the sarpo mira were recommended by a couple of magazines (sorry can’t remember which), I roasted them yesterday and preferred them to roast pink fir, I like them boil with buttery stuff, Frances

  2. I’m glad you mentioned leeks. I have never grown them but they might be a nice thing to try. How do you usually cook them?

    • Deb I find leeks can be used in many ways like a milder flavoured onion, I like them in stir fries, soups, with eggs (they are nice finely chopped and added to scrabbled egg), with a cheese sauce poured over and just plain steamed or lightly boiled, in my opinion they are quite a versatile veg, Frances

  3. Beautiful veggies!
    Especially love potatoes
    Have a wonderful day!
    Lea

  4. That quantity of potatoes sounds good to me, they are never a great success for me. Leeks take ages! I’m going to sow mine much earlier next year, mine are a good size this year which I think is partly due to all the rain from mid-September. Sorry you can’t get out into the garden.

    • thanks Christina, I am glad you mention leeks take time with you too because I was wondering if it was our lack of heat but that’s not a problem for you! I’ve learnt a lot and will be doing things differently next year,
      I’m pretty resigned to not getting into the garden it was just running out of some veggies that were in the garden, I was not going to buy them but didn’t really want to go harvesting in the rain, I have been getting on with things in the house, and looking for minecraft and disney infinity for the grandsons christmas pressies has been a diversion into another world ;o) Frances

  5. What pretty potatoes! And they look disease free as well. Here they often get this scruffy surface, I don’t know what it’s called in English. How wonderful to be able to harvest this late in the year!

    I’m thinking of making one of those no-dig beds on the lawn this winter, just unload my manure every day and let it sit there and compost in place. I need the bed from this year to move my currant bushes which are fighting thistles in the old garden every summer.

    • thanks Pia, they do have some scab (which could be what you are referring too), a professional gardener on a radio programme here in the UK recommended that when the top dies down remove it but leave the tubers and lift them as you need them and they continue to grow and swell so I have done this for the last 3 years and it’s worked well, so far (touch wood),
      my potatoes are not in a raised bed, I had read that a crop of potatoes clears ground so I plant them in different places each year and as they are growing it means I keep the area weeded and it gets well dug as I remove the tatties,
      your manure sounds like gold to me, Frances

  6. Your potatoes look superb, Frances – and I have no idea of what is an acceptable yield either but the quality looks great. Your carrots and leeks look yummy too – but I wonder what sort of leek one could expect in only 6-8 weeks? I think they would be very premature babies… ;)

  7. what a satisfyingly pretty pile of spuds Frances – cultivating spuds is akin to digging the garden but with a crop at the end of the labour. have only ever grown leeks once as seedlings and they were popped into holes and left to right themselves by making roots. p.s. leek sauce goes with just about everything :)

    • thank you Laura, I grew the leeks from seed but didn’t sow many and didn’t sow any more as they didn’t seem to be growing, lesson learnt, I dropped these as seedlings into holes, watered them in and left them to it, thank you for the sauce idea, sound tasty, more delicate than onion sauce, Frances

  8. Lovely looking spuds, and baby leeks are so very tasty, and ridiculously pricy in the shops so maybe you should pretend that was your aim all along?!

  9. So jealous you have so many veggies still going. If I had room I would grow potatoes in the ground instead of bags to get a better bounty.

    • don’t be jealous Donna, you can grow more in your warm/hot summer than can be grown in the lukewarm weather here, I’m only growing potatoes to help me clear the ground if my garden was as nicely laid out as yours then I wouldn’t have room for them either, or, if my dream veg patch ever materialised I’d include them in the rotation, Frances

  10. What a wonderful haul, Frances, I’m very impressed. We restrict ourselves to early potatoes so they are long since gone, but I may try and find space for a winter batch of carrots next year…

    • thanks Sara, the carrots were not meant to be for now they have just taken a very long time to grow, something for me to take into consideration next year, Frances