a few photos of my garden

gosh I hadn’t realised until I resized some photos for my blog that I have not posted since September first,  I’ve been busy with non gardening things which come to an end next week, so I can then get back to bloging and catch up on my blog reading,
it was nice and sunny today so I took a few photos of the garden, this is what I see as I enter the big garden and turn towards the back, the bright orange dots are like bright sun drops and so cheery,

I couldn’t resist this photo of the dogwood with the fading heather behind the red stems contrasted against the green leaves,

the tweenie garden is giving me a lot of pleasure this year it is almost unbelievable to think it was mostly grass and weed at the beginning of last year, there is still a lot to plant up and now we have had rain I can start moving and buying plants to fill the bare spaces,
this shasta daisy has been flowering beautifully for quite some time now,

this is the view across the tweenie with the gunnera behind me you can see in the foreground the forsythia that was wind burnt in spring it has put on a lot of growth and you can also see one of the bronze fennels I had to cut down a couple of months ago also growing well, the trees across are the ones that protect the tweenie from the south westerly winds,

over to the other side I love the way the morning sun is backlighting the plants,

and a full front photo of the tweenie garden,

the plants have grown very well here this year and I think one reason is I scattered some slow release fertilizer in early summer, I used to think plants got their food from the soil, I was such a novice gardener, I learnt just a few years ago how low in nutrients a peat soil is and as I can’t get compost and can’t make any where near enough last year I bought some fertilizer and it made a difference where I used it so this year I tried it in more areas like this one, I really feel now that the reason I have had such slow growth with plants has more to do with lack of nutrients than the wind and weather,

 

©Copyright 2012 Frances Caple. All rights reserved. Content created by Frances Caple for Island Threads.

15 responses to “a few photos of my garden

  1. paulinemulligan

    Your garden is looking lovely, very lush! The growth since the spring is amazing, as you say, it must be the fertiliser! So glad you are now getting the results that you want, happy plants make a happy gardener!!

    • thanks Pauline, some parts of the garden are looking like a garden now though as the garden is so big they look like dots in the oringinal heather and grass landscape, having a large garden yourself I’m sure you understand, I have to remind myself that the tweenie garden alone is as big as some people’s whole garden, not complaining love having a big garden, infact think I am very lucky to have it, Frances

  2. Your last image is stunning; I enlarged it as it is difficult to see how lovely the garden is in the small images. Most ornamentals don’t need lots of fertilizer in normal soil, but you’re probably right that in your soil it is useful. It’s great when something we do makes a noticeable difference. Christina

    • thanks Christina, I like to enlarge photos on blogs, plants might not need a lot but they do need some food and my soil seems to have almost nothing, I think so many people in the UK have clay soil which is nutriant rich that feeding plants is rarely thought about, except for tomatoes and roses lol, Frances

  3. Frances, your garden is looking absolutely lovely, you must be very pleased with it. And I’m sure it’s not just the fertiliser – it’s the love and care and your eye. That dogwood with the heather behind – oh, yes….

  4. Your garden is looking lovely, to look at it you would never know what a hard year it has had. I love the height and colour that flowering dill can bring – my MIL has hundreds of self-seeded plants in her garden that shine like gold in the sun and are covered in insects. The ones I raised from seed this year stayed small and polite in our garden. The drops of orange as you enter the big garden are warm and welcoming.

    • thanks Sara, actually this summer has been dry for us but yes considering the north winds that hit the tweenie garden most of last year and early this year it’s good to know how strong some plants have grown back, my shining gold is fennel, ordinary garden fennel, I love the height and it stands up to the wind well considering it’s height, it too gets covered in insects, I get lots of seedlings which I had just weeded out but this year I have potted them up, the postlady would like some and as I have got other areas of my garden clear of grass there are more places to transplant too, if your dill is anything like the fennel they will grow big in the coming years, Frances

  5. I need to get better with fertilizing my garden…it is the last thing I think of outside the veg garden…I really love the garden in the first picture and how the flowers bloom and play off each other…I also really love the tweenie garden with that amazing fennel. Glad the garden is doing well as are you Frances!

    • thanks Donna, Donna if you have a clay soil you shouldn’t need fetilizer much as clay is full of nutriants apparently, if it is very acidic then a little lime might help release the nutriants, apparently a very acid soil locks in nutriants and makes it harder for plants to absort them, ….. or so I have read …. Frances

  6. So many beautiful plants to look at here Frances. I love the red stems on the dogwood and the drops of orange from the California poppies? stand out beautifully. You must be really thrilled when you walk around and look at it all.

  7. Hello Frances, your visitors really need to know the importance of expanding your photos, I found them quite sensational. Some of our borders are on the peaty side, I have been aware for some time as to the lack of nutrients and with the amount of plants which we squeeze in it is understandable that some goodness should be added. I normally use blood fish and bone, and sometimes in Autumn just the bonemeal which encourages root growth. I do struggle to do this in Spring, some borders are very wide and trying to avoid treading on emerging bulb shoots is difficult. Do you use the osmocote type slow release fertilizer and do you just fork it in lightly.

    • thanks Alistair, I read that bonemeal encourages strong root growth so use bonemeal when I plant plants but being a veggie I feel guilty and wonder what I could use that isn’t dead amimal, I actually resisited for a long time but then one day realised if I had a cat I would feed it meat so why am I depriving my plants, the fertiliser I bought is a slow release all round one, I also lightly lime some areas, very careful not to lime acid loving plants, the roses have had the most lime, aparently acid soil locks in any nuriants there might be and raising the ph with a bit of lime helps realise them, Frances