roses

finally my roses are blooming, they started putting out growth in April but the strong north winds of May killed off most of that growth then the dry weather that followed didn’t encourage new growth, the rain in late July gave the roses a boost and now they are flowering, until early last year I had few roses, everything I read and heard about roses was that they are delicate and difficult, so I had thought they were not for the conditions of my garden, I had inherited 3 Rosa Canina (Dog roses) and a beautiful unknown rose by the garden gate, I bought a Rosa Rugosa Alba which has grown well and doesn’t sucker like the magenta pink version, then early last year I heard a Rugosa rose recommended to a gardener which was a different variety, there are more types of rugosa roses! I did a search on the internet (where would I be without this lifeline?) and sure enough up came several varieties of rugosa roses, one nursery that came up in searches sold the roses bareroot in the dormant season, I much prefer to buy bare root plants, this nursery also delivered to the Scottish islands (lots of nurseries do not or charge exorbitant postal charges because they do not use Royal mail), I bought 4 roses spring 2011 and was so pleased I bought 6 more autumn 2011 and I am currently deciding on my order for this autumn,

so with the first 2 rugosa roses I started a new border in spring 2011 and added 2 more in the autumn, Yellow Dagmar Hustrup, flowered beautifully last summer and is now putting fourth a good display,

Blanc Double de Coubert was planted last autumn and has a lovely large double white flower,

F J Grootendorst also planted last autumn has beautiful clusters of smaller deep reddish pink flowers,

Sarah van Fleet was planted spring 2011 and though as I have said I am not a pink person her amazingly wonderful perfume wins me over, sorry I can’t share it on my blog, I am slowly planting this border with other plants and am pleased with the way it is progressing though there is lots still to do, I also want to make it longer when time allows,

Rosa rugosa Alba is further along and I hope to plant rugosas all along, RR Alba was originally in the front garden but started to grow too big so I moved it but must have left some root as a few years later another RR Alba appeared in the same place,

the other 2 roses I bought spring 2011 are rambler roses and I have yet to see them flower, I have learnt that ramblers flower on last years growth but neither did, one didn’t grow so well last year and again this year so I will be moving it in the autumn, I put the ramblers under open areas of the pine trees and added some lime, I bought 2 more last autumn and planted one under a pine it is growing well and has flowered, Rambling rose Veilchenblau, I love it and hope it grows and stays, the flowers are smaller but in plentiful clusters,

the second one I bought I couldn’t plant where I had intended as there was little soil when I dug down so with the wet weather last winter I heeled it in over winter, with the still wet spring I hadn’t got into the garden much when I saw it had started to send out shoots, I knew it could not stay where is was heeled in so some quick thinking was done to chose a home for it, I decided to sort out a patch of ground by my shed and the east fence, there is a short wall by the shed so it gives the rose a wall on 2 sides, I put a honeysuckle in with it and hope they will grow through and around each other, as I want the bottom full I have been nipping out tips to make them bush out, there are some old ladders in the shed and I want one leaning against the shed for the rose and honeysuckle to climb through, rambler rose American Pillar, it has flowered and again I love it, I hope they grow and stay,

lastly, because I was so pleased with the roses I bought spring 2011 when I ordered more in the autumn, I looked at the species roses as I had read they are hardier and I like natural and native plantings, I already have Rosa Canina, I had another area where I wanted to create a border and it is sheltered from the south westerlies (of course for the last 18 months the wind has been coming more often from the north east! typical) anyway I have started a species rose border, it only has 2 but species roses are on my order for this autumn and I have another Rosa Canina growing which can’t stay where it is so will be moved here, only one has flowered this year, Rosa Pimpinellifolia (Burnet rose), it has smaller white flowers and black hips, I love the plumy purple stems too,

©Copyright 2012 Frances Caple. All rights reserved. Content created by Frances Caple for Island Threads.

18 responses to “roses

  1. What a surprise! I hadn’t thought of roses liking such a windy climate. Glad you’ve found ones which thrive . Many! I’m a rosa canina fan – but the Burnet Rose looks interesting too.

    Like

    • thanks Lucy, I too was surprised at the variety and number of roses that might grow here, I love Trevor White’s website and have learnt so much there are far more species roses than I had ever dreamed and I am enjoying deciding which I like and that might grow here, nice to see I’m not the only one who reads blogs early Sunday morning have a lovely day, Frances

      Like

  2. paulinemulligan

    What a lot of super roses, you are certainly making a difference to your garden and have wisely chosen varieties that should stand up to to all the wind that you get, its all going to look wonderful when they get going. Like the last one with its purple stems, is that the one that has foliage that smells of apples after the rain?

    Like

    • thanks Pauline, another early riser reading blogs, I’ll let you know if the pimpinellifolia smell of apples after rain when we get some rain! I have never seen it so dry here but then last winter I never saw it so wet! the weather forecast said there was more rain and high tempretures headed your way today your garden will soon be a tropical jungle, have a nice day, Frances

      Like

  3. paulinemulligan

    At the moment it is thick fog!! Usually after a foggy start at this time of year, the sun comes out and everything is lovely, we’ll just have to wait and see.

    Like

    • no surprise there then not the first time the weather people have got it wrong! I remember thoses foggy starts and hot days well I hope you have a lovely sunny week and longer, Frances

      Like

  4. Roses are much tougher than we give them credit. Rugosa are fantastic roses sadly they don’t like my volcanic soil but are very tough with such bueatiful apple-scented foliage. Good luck with the new plantings. Chrisitna

    Like

    • thanks Christina, I’m surprised the rugosas don’t like your soil as they like sandy free draining soil I wonder if it’s because of the rich mineral content of your volcanic soil, you have some beautiful roses anyway in your garden, Frances

      Like

  5. Hello Frances, good to see your Roses looking so good, I especially like the interesting Rosa Pimpinellifolia. Thanks for your thoughts on the problems I have been having with blotanical, and yes it is indeed looking like the problem was with some of the settings on my site.

    Like

  6. That rose with the purple stems is lovely, very unusual, for me anyway as I’d never heard of it. Love the Rosa ragusas!

    Like

    • thanks Bridget, I love the rugosas too and have found there are many very interesting species roses, this is weird as I was visiting your blog this afternoon but didn’t leave a comment sorry, I was catching up and left wordless when I read of the derelict school built as recently as 1955, I will visit again and comment, Frances

      Like

  7. It is nice you found roses that will survive your climate. I enjoy roses, but most have difficulty here with the humidity and insects. They need too much care in our climate, but like I said, I would love to have them in my garden also. Pretty selections that you made.

    Like

    • thanks Donna, it’s a shame they don’t do well in your climate but you have a beautiful garden anyway and can grow plants I can’t like delphiniums, swings and roundabouts, Frances

      Like

  8. Frances how lovely and diverse your rose booms are. I have always loved Sarah and would love to grow her here. Roses can be fussy here although I have had some success so I keep trying. I also love that American pillar…so wonderful that these beauties are doing so well for you!!

    Like

    • thanks Donna, I’m pleased they have done well despite a few knock backs and hope they will continue to grow, it’s a shame they don’t grow well in your area, Frances

      Like

  9. Hi Frances, I am a complete novice when it comes to roses, so this was a really good post for me! I will definitely plant at least one rosa rugosa alba in the front garden, and you have tempted me to look at other species roses for the back…

    Like

    • Janet I too am a novice with roses and all gardening and am learning as I go, I did e mail Trevor White when I found his website saying where I live and my garden conditions and asking what roses would he suggest, I received a very helpful reply, do explore the different rugosa roses before making a final choice you may be surprised at the variety and there are a great many more species roses, Frances

      Like