wind and rain

yesterday was windy and in the evening the rain started, today it’s still windy and for most of the day it has rained, the garden needed the rain but could do without the wind, the wind is coming from the south west so many plants are protected unlike when we have had the many north east winds of late and from the south west it is warmer than northern winds,

I have been working in the garden a lot mostly because every day I expect to be the last of the dry spell so I feel I have to ‘get out there’ while I can, I realised I have not taken many photos so I think I must get out with the camera, here are a few, I was pleased and surprised to see this honeysuckle flowering so well, 3 years ago there was a beautiful hebe here but 2 colder than normal winters killed it so I put the honeysuckle in to grow over the bare bones left by the hebe,

one of the hebes the rabbits ate in January is recovering well and has offered a few blooms,

the red campion is still flowering and there are thousands of seeds, the oxeye daisies have finally joined it so everything is not so pink though there are foxgloves offering more pink!

why is it seeds I scatter to grow don’t but weed seeds grow like there is no tomorrow, if you look close there are some California poppy seedlings growing (I have weeded since this photo),

this plant flowers nicely and I know it needs to be divided I like it but do not know what it is, if you think you know I would love to hear from you, I tried to take a closer photo but is was moving with the breeze and so they came out blurred, it’s a bit like crocosmia but the flowers are more widely spaced, the plant is deciduous and disappears in winter, I can’t remember if it was corms that I planted it was a long time ago, 

the leaves are blue/green sword like,

after spending more time than I probably should at the computer I think I may have found my plant, I was searching through photos of orange tubular flowers and came across a Watsonia photo, the website is a very good one for bulb, corm, etc. identification the Pacific bulb society  on further looking I think my plant is watsonia meriana var. bulbillifera as my plant does have the bulbillis after the flowers finish, it is apparently an invasive plant in some countries, so far I have not found this probably because it is much cooler here than in it’s native South Africa, if you think the plant is something else I would love to know incase I’m wrong, 

have a nice week,

©Copyright 2012 Frances Caple. All rights reserved. Content created by Frances Caple for Island Threads.

14 responses to “wind and rain

  1. paulinemulligan

    Your honeysuckle is looking really good climbing your wall, the perfume must be wonderful. Sorry you have now got our rain, but we have at last got a hint that summer is starting , blue skies and hot sunshine, it has been so long coming. I have the same problem with seeds that I sow direct, they never seem to grow, have much more success with them in modules in the greenhouse.

    Like

    • I don’t mind the rain as the garden needs a good watering but would prefer not to have the wind, it’s stopped raining now and there is a lovely red sky, I was pleased to read on your blog comment you finally had some sunshine and warmth,
      Pauline I’m even worst with sowing seeds in pots, I don’t have a greenhouse and have tried them on windowsills but either they do not germinate or they grow long and leggy, I’d love a green house, Frances

      Like

  2. Frances your honeysuckle against the stones is just gorgeous…and all the pink flowers with the daisies reminds me of the spring meadow…not sure what the flower is sorry to say. Glad you have some rain…weed seeds seem to be so much more resilient and love my garden too.

    Like

  3. Glad to hear you are having relatively good weather. I agree that your flowers a lovely mauve. As for the seeds, I’ve never tried sowing directly and usually have them germinate in seedling pots first before transferring to the pot or ground. Is that a pitcairnia? I’m not too sure though. The genus is not a forte of mine.

    Like

    • thanks Bom, as I said to Pauline I have even less success with seeds if I try growing them in pots, I did a search for ‘pitcairnia’ I can see there are similarities but it is a plant for a much warmer climate than we have here, I noticed some said pitcairnia are evergreen my plant is deciduous sorry I should have said, thanks, Frances

      Like

      • I did check about Pitcairnia before suggesting it because I wasn’t sure.

        “Pitcairnia is a genus of the botanical family Bromeliaceae that can easily be grown in Scotland in areas with cold climate and fairly heavy shade from direct sunlight. The area should have retentive humus, rich, well drained moist soil and a humid atmosphere.”

        I don’t know though what it could be if it is truly deciduous. Here’s some food for thought: “Perhaps the most graphic example of this variation can be found in “deciduous” species such as Pitcairnia heterophylla. In that species, the “normal” leaves drop off at the start of the dry season to help the plant conserve moisture.”

        Don’t mind me I’m just being resistant. LOL!

        Like

  4. The garden is looking good – we certainly needed the rain. I don’t normally sow my seeds direct – but I tried a few things this year. The Icelandic poppies struggled against the weeds, but the more robust borage has done well.
    California poppies like poor, well drained soil and seem to do well in my machair soil. If you can get them going they will self-seed, so persevere they are really worth it.

    Like

  5. We have had rainy and windy weather almost every day this summer here in Finland…

    Like

  6. Love that stone wall in the background. I have to be careful when sowing new seeds, if I don’t know what the seedling looks like I have sometimes weeded out my new plants! but I do find keeping the area weeded gives new seedlings a better chance to take hold.

    Like

    • thanks Marguerite, the stone wall is just the corner bit you can see, it would be lovely if it went along that side of the front but no, I only weed out weeds I regonise last year I was weeding out what I thought was buttercup only to discover some were musk mallow which has 2 types of leaves! so now I am letting them get a bit bigger before I weed, Frances

      Like