along the Nile

in last weeks Egypt post I show some photos from along the Nile and talked of irrigation, this week I am showing more photos I took on the 2 days and nights spent on the Nile,
after I posted the first Egypt post about the Fryal gardens I realised I had only posted one photo of the Nile looking towards Luxor and forgot to post this photo looking up the Nile towards the Aswan dam, the Nile widens and there are many islands, always there is the desert just beyond the green,

we got on the felcucca in the morning and no time for a photo so this is a photo of another just like the one I’m on,

a Nubian village, in upper Egypt there are 2 races of people, Arab people and culture and Nubian people and culture, I had never before heard of Nubian people, when I read about the area it was often described as where Arab Egypt meets African Egypt, when the new Aswan dam was built and the land south of it flooded not only were national monuments moved, the area was the principle home of the Nubian people and many thousands had to move home as their villages would be drowned, they were given permission to build new villages on the west side of the Nile across from Aswan, whether they were given help with the costs I do not know but sincerely hope so,

another felucca, these boats are used by both Arab and Nubian and have been built and used for hundreds (may be thousands) of years,

the above photo was taken just before sunset which was between 6 and 6.30 early evening, we had stopped for the night choosing a sandy desert area as then there was less chance of being bothered by mosquitoes, the next morning I went for a little walk along the bank, I saw these unusual fruits I was told they are not edible but are used to make a medicine, the boatman didn’t know the English or Latin name only the Arabic,  

this was growing in the sandy bank

looking back to the felucca I was on better get there as they were waiting for me,

I have already posted photos from when we were travelling in last weeks post and some photos from where we stopped for lunch, here’s a few more,

update due to a comment left, these animals are baby water buffalo their mother was near by they are not starving and I saw no examples of animal neglect in Egypt,

again I have posted photos of the journey this is where we stopped the second night, the sun was low so the shade was hung to keep it off as it was hot, it went into the 40s centigrade during the day,

a view looking back along the Nile where we had come, the canvas is the portable loo,

sunset

early next morning, these little birds were every where along the river they are about the size of an English blackbird/American robin,

looking up the Nile towards Aswan in the early morning sun,

looking down the Nile towards Luxor,

©Copyright 2012 Frances Caple. All rights reserved. Content created by Frances Caple for Island Threads.

22 responses to “along the Nile

  1. Those poor animals… whatever they are! Goats, cows, sheep? They are so emaciated I can’t even tell! How do they treat animals in Egypt Frances? Was there a lot of neglect? Starvation? Not sure I’d like to relocate there!

    Like

    • Bex the animals are baby water buffalo and not starving, I saw no animal neglect when I was in Egypt though many people were much poorer than some western people who do ill treat animals, Frances

      Like

  2. paulinemulligan

    You have shown us some amazing scenes Frances, but where did you sleep, the boat looks too small, did you have tents to camp in on the side of the river? Sunset photos are stunning!

    Like

    • thanks Pauline, we did sleep on the felucca, it looks small because the river is so large and wide, there were only 5 of us so there was plenty of room much more than in a tent, there were the 2 crew and the holiday guide and just us 2 who were on this tour, apparently they can have up to nine tour group people which would make a total of 12 that would be crowded, the other woman and I were really glad there was just us 2 and we both were like minded and wanted to enjoy the peace of it, there were stories of some trips with lots of drinking and loud stuff, so glad I wasn’t on one like that! if there are more than nine in a tour group then there are more feluccas up to 3, just can’t imagine a convoy of 3 with a total of more than 30 people! sounds like a nightmare to me, I was sooo lucky with the date I chose, Frances

      Like

  3. Frances what an amazing journey. I am not so sure I would be as adventurous especially after seeing the loo…your photos of the nile are amazing…I love the first one showing the water, greenery and then the vast desert. Was it that hot on the water too…how did you stay cool…

    Like

    • thanks Donna, when the boat was moving there was a nice breeze and with the shade cover across the top of the seating area to keep the sun off it was nice, it was when we stopped that the heat hit especially if in the sun too, once the sun went down early evening the temps went down too, the hotels, resturants, etc. all had very good air conditioning, I don’t normally like heat but with our weather the previous 18 months I really enjoyed the warmth, I needed to feel some warmth, back to cool north winds here,

      for interest the Nubian traditional houses are all built with a small glass less window high up at either end of each room so the breeze can blow through and keep it cool, in winter they are blocked to keep it warm, mankind has always evolved to cope with conditions, we went on a ride through the green islands on our last night in Aswan and visited a Nubian village where we had a traditional Nubian dinner, no photos afraid as it was in the evening so too dark for my camera, Frances

      Like

  4. Hi, Thank you for taking us along the Nile with you. What an amazing trip that must have been! As for washing with soapwort … it really works. I chopped up leaves and stems and heated it in water on the stove for ten or fifteen minutes. When you can put your hands in it you can make it suds up a little with agitation. Super sudsing is not required for it to work. Strain out the greenery. I have washed some hand knit woolen sweaters with it one at a time. Lay the sweater in and let it soak a bit. Gentle squeezing through will clean it. You will find the soil will settle to the bottom. Rinse with luke warm water and roll in a turkish towel to remove water that is left after a gentle squeeze. Dry flat. Fine silks and linens are washed this way by museums.
    And, yes, it does want to spread if it likes where it is growing. Mine has dwindled because it is losing the battle for territory with comfrey, another rank grower. I put these aggressors ‘out behind the barn’ and let them do their thing.

    Like

    • thanks MCH, thank you for the soapwort info I will give it a try, perhaps I’ll curtail it in the ditch garden but leave it by the shed where is is still coming up along with horsetail, the persistence of the horsetail was why I moved the few plants that had survived, Frances

      Like

  5. What a fantastic trip. How wonderful to travel by boat, such a nice quiet way to travel. Glad to read you had a small crew on your boat as that would have made it quite relaxing and peaceful.

    Like

    • Marguerite it was very relaxing and peaceful, one of the crew did all the food preparation and cooking, the food was delicious, such a contrast to the overcrowded monuments, Frances

      Like

  6. What an interesting excursion. I agree with Donna, I think I would have been eager right up until I caught a glimpse of the loo! Fascinating reading the comments above and hearing more details of the trip. I’ve never seen this part of the world and don’t know that I ever will so was happy to come along in the blogosphere. Thanks for the tour.

    Like

    • thanks Cat, for people like you and Donna you can take a cruise along the Nile in ships I would describe as a floating hotel but I wouldn’t think you would get the same feel for the river and they can’t just stop any where along the bank, we never know what the future holds although I wanted to live in the Scottish highlands I never at any point in my life thought I would live on an island especially one that is a considerable distance from the mainland, Frances

      Like

  7. wifemothergardener

    Wow. What an amazing trip. Thank you for sharing your photos and your stories. I am going to show the water buffaloes to my girls tomorrow :)
    ~Julie

    Like

    • thanks Julie, the baby water buffaloes were so sweet when we got off the boat they were sitting in the water like their mother but like most youngsters they became curious about us, I am not as close as the photo gives impression, I have a small zoom on my camera which I used then when resizing the photo for the blog instead of resizing the whole photo I cropped in around the buffalo, Frances

      Like

  8. I would have loved taking this trip. Really, an adventure is a better description. I enjoyed your photos and they showed a place I will never see firsthand, thanks for that. I bet you wanted to stay and explore more walking along the shore, I would have.

    Like

  9. What an incredible trip and how adventurous you are! I have always wanted to see Egypt. The felucca trip sounds wonderful—I am not sure what the big deal is about the bathroom facilities.

    Like

    • thanks Carolyn, I first saw this holiday in the late eighties and wanted to go on it, so you never know you might get to Egypt one day, it will be well worth it, Frances

      Like

  10. Such a wonderful experience and memories that will stay forever. I think that I would struggle with the 40c temperatures these days though.

    Like

    • thanks Alistair, the heat wasn’t too bad, I don’t like hot, I was though this time wanting a bit of hot after our non summer last year, there is not the humidity which makes a lot of difference, apparently at this time of year the temps go into the 50s C. just can’t imagine that, Frances

      Like

  11. Thank you for sharing these lovely photos of your time in Egypt. The boats on the Nile are so hauntingly beautiful. Have a wonderful time, and thank you for sharing.

    Like