recovery and colour in the garden

as I walk passed the front of the house to the west side I see this

as I have said I am not a pink person and these plants were not chosen by me, I am enjoying seeing them, I quite like the way the pink in the alder terrace garden is echoed by the primulars in the ditch garden, a closer look at the froth of Red campion,

and the primulars,

in real life they look brighter than this photo, in the photo it is the bright green of the seedlings that stands out, in front of the primmies are the strap like leaves of mainly daffodils, the second plant from the left is Iris sibirica alba further along I have also planted Iris sibirica dear diane but unfortunately she is not growing and looks lifeless, back to Alba if you look behind there are some stones and in those stones is Osmunda regalis Royal fern
just starting to grow,

last year when it arrived we had a spell of dry weather and I was a bit worried but soon the rains came and it grew a little last year but not much, I had looked before I went away and there was no sign of growth then last week I saw one tiny leaf begin to appear this photo was taken Monday 4th it’s tiny size now belies that it can grow to 120cm at maturity,
further along in the ditch garden is Hart’s tongue fern, it had started to grow before I went away and when I returned the new leaves were all brown and dry but last week I saw one new leaf and look now there are several you can see the brown dead leaves too,

and if I turn around back to the alder terrace remember the hebe the rabbits ate most of in January well there is new life starting to grow, it has a protective bodyguard of spiny branches around it now,

we leave the west side now and go to the big garden at the back to see how the Gunnera has started to regrow, I so disliked looking at the dead every time I went to this part of the garden I cut off all the brown and cleared the grass while I was there it’s looking much better now,

wandering around the damp meadow I spotted this,

you are maybe thinking it’s just a group of greens but if we look closer a Fritillaria meleagris, snakeshead fritillaria seed pod, I’m so excited but will I be able to grow the seeds?

I am enjoying the Euphorbia palustris so much I thought it deserved a closer view,

and I am thrilled with the blue of this comfrey Symphytum caucasicum, I hope it does spread and do well I’ve given it plenty of room,

walking passed the tweenie garden to the trees I’m pleased with how this semi wild area at the edge of the trees is coming on, I have finally got the grass and horsetail to a point where the other plants can grow and thrive, the Bugle Ajuga reptans Atropurpurea is growing well with the grass now and marching back into the dry pine needles under the trees (top left),

the white dots of flowers are Silene maritime Sea campion which is a native of Lewis, I like it and planted some in my front garden where it became a thug so now it is limited to the wild areas of the larger garden,
as I enjoy the larger view of peoples gardens and I know some of my readers do too, when I turn around with the trees behind me I am looking across the tweenie garden to the damp meadow and beyond, this is 2 photos cobbled together to get the panorama,

at the moment the tweenie is full of green textures, last year I planted a few dots of colour, I like the green lushness and different leaf forms, the low growing plant centre front is the unknown blue geranium these leaves turn wonderful orange and reds later, the other low growing plant is Alchemilla mollis Lady’s mantle, the strap like leaves are Carex pendula, the other 2 main plants are Levisticum officinale Loveage and 2 fennels Foeniculum vulgare Green fennel and Foeniculum vulgare var.Dulce Bronze fennel, the other green beyond are in the damp meadow and you can see the still untamed areas of grass and culluna vulgaris ling/heather, to the right you can see the edge of the big gunnera and further along the smaller gunnera, to the left you can see down to the red of the flowering quince, you can also see there is still much work to be done,

©Copyright 2012 Frances Caple. All rights reserved. Content created by Frances Caple for Island Threads.

20 responses to “recovery and colour in the garden

  1. That pink at the front is gorgeous, so bright. And I am glad your plants returned to life after being devoured by the bunnies. I hope my echinacea does the same. I think as gardeners we always think more can be done, but, to me, to many, your garden seems full, finished, and beautiful.

    Like

    • thank you Michelle, I already have plans to protect the hebe during the winter from bunnies and wind, the area I show in the long view is one of the more finished areas, I would love to clear the heather and grass between the damp meadow and shed to make a pond which I am starting to think of saving for, one of the lovely things about the pink froth that doesn’t show in a photo is that it is buzzing with bees and other wee flying creatures, Frances

      Like

  2. Frances after all that brutal weather your garden glows under the sunshine…the pinks are lovely massed together…I love how the primulas are popping up and dotting the area with color…so much to see in that last picture. The foliage all working together…I love it…I wish my horsetail was more under control.

    Like

    • thank you Donna, my tip with the horsetail is to pull it to weaken it, I know you work and don’t get as much time as I do but I really feel the checking for spore carring shoots in early spring and pulling the green stems now to stop it photosynthesizing has made the big difference, I love the foliage and the fennel and lovage have nice aromas, I tend to stroke and pick some as I pass, Frances

      Like

  3. paulinemulligan

    Lovely to see all your signs of new life, especially your Gunnera. Harts tongue fern is so tough, I don’t think you need to worry about it. I just sprinkle my snakes head fritillary seed when they go beige coloured, hope you are successful. You have lots of lovely colour, even though you aren’t a pink person!

    Like

    • thank you Pauline, when you sprinkle your fritillary seed I imagine it’s on bare soil, the damp meadow has grass and I think that’s been the problem, my idea of these flowers growing in grass doesn’t happen easily, now I’ve found and read more about wildflower meadows most say to start you need to clear the grass and get the flowers established before letting grass in and then to keep a firm check on it, all this info wasn’t there when I started 10 years ago and I didn’t have access to the internet where I have learnt a lot! yes the pinks are nice I don’t dislike them just prefer blues, purples and sunny yellows, Frances

      Like

  4. I love the clear, strong blue of comfrey Symphytum caucasicum, are you growing it to use the leaves as mulch and as plant food or maybe this is a different variety? Christina

    Like

    • Christina if the comfrey becomes a large enough patch I hope to use some of it as a plant food, I want to buy more as plant food is what I and the island is short of, the comfrey is a Beth Chatto plant she has several types for sale, I will do a post on the plants I bought from her last year towards the autumn of this year, Frances

      Like

  5. I also am not a “pink person” but in a garden, I love it. In fact, I think I like pink in gardens a lot more than I like red colours. Pinks and blues go so nicely together. Your garden always amazes me, Frances. It just bursting with beautiful colour and life!

    The sea holly seeds I planted in 2 pots have yet to poke their heads up through the dirt. My friend, who is a gardener, was here yesterday and she says they may be drowned…;-(

    How are your sea hollies doing this year?

    Like

    • thank you Bex, my sea holly has leaves but no flower shoots yet, sea holly is a drought tolerant plant and does not like to be over watered so go careful, Frances

      Like

  6. I love pink, so glad you kept these flowers. The colour really shines from a distance and as you say, is echoed nicely by the primulas.

    Like

    • thank you Marguerite, I don’t dislike pink it just would not be my choice, I have quite a lot of pink some from plants given me and some from bargains only the candelabra primulars are due to a mistake at the nursery, thank you for taking time to catch up with my blog, Frances

      Like

  7. Everything is looking great in your garden Frances, I like the way you joined the pictures in a cinema scope manner. Hope you have success with the Fritillaria seeds. If you happen to pop over do let me know if loading of my blog was unacceptably long. I have been messing about with the theme and getting paranoid. Alistair

    Like

  8. I like the pink! I also appreciate the panoramic view of your garden; It is beautiful! I am one who loves the big picture, though I also enjoy those closeups of lovely plants like your euphorbia.

    Like

  9. Pink is not my thing either – but my garden has definite pink tones in the early summer. Perhaps it is a Hebridean phenomenon – pink blight?
    Good to see that your garden is responding to our good weather. We seem to be amongst the fortunate few this summer.

    Like

    • thanks Christine, the weather has been quite good though some days I would like less cold wind from the north and east, can’t believe all that incessant rain has stopped!! Frances

      Like

  10. Lovely pinks and blues. It’s good to see a wider picture of some of your garden too. Everything is looking very happy.

    Like