little surprises in the garden

I have been taking photos and saving some for posting on my blog since the beginning of the month but haven’t got around to posting so here goes with the first group, some nice things I’ve found happening,

I bought 10 Ash trees last autumn they are very small just about 1 year and only about a foot high (30cm), when I saw the first leaf on one tree as I had camera in hand I took this photo and when I saw it on my computer I love it, for once the automatic focus is on the part I wanted,

I am thrilled that some of the cuttings I quickly took from a dying Flowering currant have taken, it had these deep pink flowers which was why I was a bit upset when it got blown over and slowly died,

the fritillaries flowered 2 in the damp meadow, something has taken a bite out of this one,

and 2 in the front garden little bed, I never planted these they appeared last year and it’s quite a way from the damp meadow but that’s the only place they could have seeded from,

the oxlips have been flowering well, they usually do and self seed,

as have the primmies

last year I bought a Euphorbia graffithii and I love the markings on the stem as it had emerged,

one of the areas I covered with turfs last autumn had had some Rhubarb in but the Rhubarb didn’t appear last year so I thought it was gone then as I was wandering around a couple of weeks ago I saw this turf being lifted,

look what’s under,

and near by another, I’m not going to pick from these this year to give them a chance so next year could be a yummy year for Rhubarb crumble,

the Hellebore Foetidus has some seedpods forming, advice and suggestions please, would you leave it to self seed or remove when ready and sow yourself? if the later when would you sow the seeds?

 

©Copyright 2012 Frances Caple. All rights reserved. Content created by Frances Caple for Island Threads.

12 responses to “little surprises in the garden

  1. That’s some strong rhubarb pushing up that chunk of sod. Pretty plants and tasty too. I wonder if some small animal might have moved the fritillaria bulbs?

    • Marguerite I am often surprised at the persistence and resilience of some plants,
      I have never seen small animals except for the time I had harvest mice in the house! the only semi-small animals are rabbits and the occasional cat, also they would have had to carry the corms over 30 yds/meters then up 5 concrete steps which are not in a straight line you go up 2 then turn and go up another them turn again, then along a concrete path to pop them in the bed, it would be a lot easier for the wind to blow a few seeds and the wind does sometimes blow in that direction, the other option which has just come to mind as I write this, I may have picked up seeds on my wellies as where they are growing is where I knock mud off my wellies before entering the house, hmm yes hadn’t thought of that before, Frances

  2. paulinemulligan

    If you want Ash trees then I could send you hundreds, they seed all over the garden and if I didn’t get rid of them we would be living in an Ash forest by now, be warned !! All your flowers look very happy and your rhubarb is amazing, I don’t think we realise the strength of some plants!

    • thanks Pauline but no I don’t want any more Ash trees and thanks for the warning, I like to have a variety so when I bought the first group of trees when I moved here I got 10 of each and last autumn I again bought 10 each of 5 different varieties, the Ash trees are small so didn’t cost very much, Frances

  3. That’s something I wish I could do – get a close-up shot of my plants. I have an old camera that is diminishing in quality, as is the operator, so a new one would be nice. Not affordable, but nice. I love your close-ups. And your gardens, Frances.

  4. Hellebore seeds – best left to self seed, otherwise sow the seed as soon as it is ripe, leave out doors in a cool shady spot, keep moist and be patient. This is a lovely plant, shame about its vernacular.

    • thanks Christine, I think I’ll take a chance and leave it to mother nature and the weather, I’m not much good with seeds so would rather leave well alone, Frances

  5. Hello
    I’ve been wondering myself what to do with Hellebore seeds. I’ve always just left them alone, but I was thinking this year I might try to plant them in another place. I have several plants, so an abundance of seeds (unless birds or squirrels or something eats them). The seeds pods are still green – I’ve never really noticed before what time of year they are ripe. I guess I’ll just watch them closely, and when the seeds fall to the ground, pick them up and move them to another flower bed.
    Happy gardening!
    Lea
    Lea’s Menagerie

    • thanks Lea, my seedpods are still green too, seeds from other flowers do get blown around here and appear in many places, I’m better at leaving nature to germiate them then moving the seedlings if they are not wanted where they are growing I’m doing that a lot at the moment with foxgloves, Frances

  6. Look at these lovely surprises…once those ash trees get some height you will love their wonderful shade…I know I do…

    • thanks Donna, I doubt the ash will be high enough to shade me in my lifetime but hope who ever buys my house when I’m gone will enjoy the trees and not remove them, Frances