little garden

when I was in town last week I bought some new plants, I like sages but they do not do well with the wind, so I have read though I have not tried them, so I will keep this purple sage in pots and move into the shed for winter, the rosemary is not a labelled variety but by the tall straight stems I would guess it’s miss jessops upright which also seems to be the most common, again to be kept in a pot to come in in winter, I am thinking of cutting some of those long stems for cuttings if I can get more plants growing I will try one in the garden,

the last plant is an Heuchera I have a couple of these plants and I really like them, they were in a bundle of plants bought 5 or 6 years ago, I had never even heard of them before I love the leaf colours and the froth of small airy flowers, I get the impression the variety of leaf colour is their main attraction, I love purple leaf plants though do not have many, I also like silver leaf varieties too which can be a challenge as they usually prefer sunny well drained positions, the 2 heucheras I have both need moving as one has out grown it’s spot and the other is being swamped by the plants surrounding it, so I am thinking of putting them all together but have not decided where yet, the nursery had a gold leafed one as well which I might go back for,

now to the title of the post, there is a small bed at the side of the house it is part of the front garden and as I use the side door most it is the first and last bit of garden I see, I read some where can’t remember if book or blog but any how I read that cyclamens are coming through and I thought wonder if the still surviving one I have left is growing yet, yes it is just, it is in the little garden as according to the planting positions they like it should grow there, I have bought several and have given up, most do not last long and I have never had a flower, it was when I looked for it I realised how over grown this garden is so weeded before taking the photo, you can see some of the weeds in the photo of the new plants,

I have surfed the garden designers again recently and this made me think perhaps it would help if I wrote down what plants I have and where, as this would be quite a mammoth task I am going to tackle one garden area at a time, starting with this the smallest so last night I wrote down what plants were in there and got quite a surprise as I think there is little but there are 15, then I divided them into spring, summer, autumn flowering and found there are no autumn flowering, I realised thinking about it this morning I have very little autumn flowering in the garden yet I love asters which are autumn flowering but just don’t have any ~ how did I miss that???

so this is the bed weeded looking from the door,

and this is looking towards the door, it’s the one the rabbits were digging up in spring, I like the stones now and intend to cover the whole little garden with them,

the large clump of denticulata primmies has been dug out and moved, the chives have been dug out to be split, some will go back some in pots, the candelabra primmy needs moving, the elephants ears loves it’s new planting I did in the spring it has grown better than ever, there is even a flower coming up now, I also dug out many of the spring bulbs as they were congested, one group was piled 3 ā€“ 4 bulbs deep…… I will replant some back,

I would welcome any suggestions for autumn flowering plants here, it faces north and east with house walls on the south and west, I have added compost, it drains well most of the year but stays a bit damp most of the winter as it gets no sun then, in summer it gets full sun most of the day due to the sun being almost immediately over head, one end gets hit by wind coming around the house, I’ve sent an e mail asking for suggestion to radio scotlands’ beech grove potting shed will let you know if they give me any,

wow this turned into a long post,

evening update: now it will be even longer as I have just found an answer to my question, I did a web search for ‘autumn flowering plants’ and a link to this blog page came up,

http://gardenofeaden.blogspot.com/2009/09/flowering-plants-for-late-summerautumn.html

it’s a uk blog, I already have 2 of the plants, agapanthus – they were bought last year and are still tiny and in pots but for the future and day lilies which are flowering in other parts of the garden, I only have one kind it is from my parents garden, my father planted them before I can remember, they have been in my parents garden all my life or since I was old enough to remember, I think for this little garden I would like to buy some other varieties though, the web is a wonderful place

8 responses to “little garden

  1. That flowerbed has demanding conditions for planting. Full summer sun and NE aspect. Any wall room for Hydrangea petiolaris. Japanese anemones and Trycytris formosana (spelling possibly awry) could be good as they are pretty unfussy. Good luck and good to find you through Blotanical.

    Like

  2. hello Cathrine thanks for your ideas, I like Japanese anemones and noticed when looking on the web last night that they are currently flowering, the nursery in town has some so I will take a look when I go in this week, my knowledge of plants is limited so I will look up Trycytris formosana, I like Hydrangeas but in this instance there is a concrete path between the house and soil, I perhaps should say that although it gets full sun in summer, due to how far north we are the sun is never boiling hot, I have never seen the ground baked as I have in the south of uk,

    Like

  3. just realised I should have added we also rarely get frosts in winter, being an island the weather is temperate with no extremes between summer and winter, BUT due to being so far north there are extremes of light levels, almost constant light in mid summer and only about 7 hours of light in mid winter, it really has been and still is a learning experience,

    Like

  4. I’ve stumbled upon your blog this morning and have so enjoyed my visit. I look forward to visiting again. I must say I especially love the stones in your garden. I garden on an ancient riverbed that was covered in stones before we landscaped. I saved many of them to line my perennial bed.

    Like

  5. thanks Meredehuit, the stones I have the small are from shingle I bought and the large from island beaches, I didn’t want them on the bed at first but had to put them there as in the spring I had over zealous rabbits digging but I really like them now and want to cover the whole of that bed with them,

    Like

  6. I was advised that hydrangea petiolaris was suitable for a North-facing wall here in Fife, but it all boils down to salt in the isles. Mine is very slow to put on growth, but there is one down in the village with a stem like a forearm and is about 7′ tall.
    I have the silvered ruby-red heuchera and also the gold one, Frances, and they do really well, very forgiving plants. Also easy to split and spread around. When replanting offshoots, be sure to bury a little deeper than they were. They will spread more easily.
    Wonderful that your cyclamen are leafing again. A triumph!
    I’m sure you must have the good old dependable ‘ice plant’ sedum spectabile, which comes in different colour variations of leaf and flower.
    Also for long-flowering into ‘Autumn’, have you tried an agastache? I have Black Prince which is covered with hoverflies today. And you’re right about the asters. Very cheery at this time and (usually) tough as old boots.
    Would penstemmons do where you are?

    Like

  7. thanks KC (well KC’s fpu) for the above info, the garden centre/nursery had the golden hechera too and I think I might get one, I didn’t see the silvered ruby red or I would have bought it sounds beautiful,
    interesting you mention the ice plant as that is what Jim McCall said on the Beech Grove Potting Shed today, I have one looking very sickly (the one with yellowed leaves) due to my getting this one from my parents garden which is (was I keep forgetting my mum has moved so it’s not her garden any more), was on the chalky north downs of south east england, I think of ice plants liking hot sun and drought so I put it in a part of the garden that is the nearest I can get to that, will now move it,
    don’t know agastache so will do a search, will write more about the little bed including the BGPS recommendations in a post of it’s own soon,
    thanks again your (fpu’s) a mine of gardening info KC ~ must get it from you ;o)

    Like

  8. Natch!:grin:

    Like